Nostalgic Home

A Vintage View of Homekeeping

The good, the bad and the sticky – New Year’s Eve January 1, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Holidays — LotusMama @ 9:52 am
Tags: ,

I can’t remember the last time I went out for New Year’s Eve. It might have been eight years ago when I was pregnant with my son and my family went out to a fancy dinner, which I could barely eat. That’s the last memory I can pull up but I’m sure there has been stuff since then. A midnight reveler, I’m not. Not surprising, we didn’t have any great plans for this Eve.

However, something remarkable decided to happen on our ho-hum evening just the same. My cousin’s baby girl decided to be born on New Year’s Eve instead of New Year’s Day. Talk about a humdinger of a New Year! Congratulation to momma and baby. I hope the fireworks didn’t disturb their rest.

That was the good part of the evening. The bad part of the evening came in the form of a movie we rented from Netflix. For those who have seen Tropic Thunder and who enjoyed it, all I can say is

(sound of crickets, a baby – perhaps my cousin’s daughter – wails in the background)

I can’t remember when I’ve seen a worse film. Really. I’ve seen some clunkers but this one was so bad it left me wanting eye-bleach at the end of it. I get that it was a parody, I get the spoof, yadda yadda yadda, Tom Cruise in a fat suit, exploding bodies, Jack Black tied to a tree (that sounds more interesting that it was, trust me).

Well, on to the sticky portion of the night. The plan was to make pineapple upside cake and it would have gone off without a hitch if I had actually had some pineapple in the cupboard. Alas, no pineapple. But I did the next best thing. I used a pineapple, strawberry and mango fruit blend from the freezer. After thawing out the fruit on the stove, I strained it and put that in the bottom of the pan. The final result still had pineapple but also had some other, dare I say, tropic flavors going on. And above all, it was sticky. Sticky with brown sugar goodness.

It was while eating this concoction of the sofa, watching Tropic Thunder and the scene with Jack Black in various fat suits (yes, there were fat suits a-plenty in this film) that I thought perhaps January would be a good time to pull back on the sweets. I have a feeling parfait with fruit and low-fat pudding may be making some appearances around here.

There you have it – the (really) good, the (really) bad, and the (just enough) sticky. I hope your New Year’s was exciting or at least couch-comfy. Here’s to a great 2009!

 

2 Responses to “The good, the bad and the sticky – New Year’s Eve”

  1. rosemary Says:

    we had our usual non fat ice cream….that after I ate the last of the truffles we got as a gift. May 2009 be the frosting on your cakes.

  2. MHP :) Says:

    Happy New Year! And I’m with you on the whole cutting down on sweets thing…I think I gained at least 10 pounds during the holiday season!!


Leave a Reply

