Nostalgic Home

A Vintage View of Homekeeping

Banana-fanna-bo-banna February 3, 2009

Filed under: Baking — LotusMama @ 9:43 am
Tags:

Banana bread is one of those things I really love but I don’t always think about making. Usually, we eat bananas up too quickly to have any lingering around that are getting mushy. I’m one of those people that likes my banana without any brown on the skin, in fact a banana that has just turned yellow is my most favorite. Sure, these kind of bananas are a little more “spiky” as NR would say, but that’s what I like – no mushy banana flavor for me.

But as it happened, I had four small bananas that were really getting spotty. Once the spots starts it is all over for me, so making banana bread became the plan. The question was though what recipe to use. I like my banana bread full of walnuts; hubby and NR want theirs without nuts. I like my banana bread to have a brown sugar flavor, with allspice and vanilla in the mix too. There are so many banana bread recipes out there, it is hard to know what recipe to go to – my previous adventures in banana bread have yielded “ok but not exciting” results. I’m not sure what I’m looking for from the banana bread but at least for Hubby, his benchmark is the banana bread his grandma used to make.

I’ve never had her bread and I don’t have her recipe, so duplicating her bread wasn’t the plan. Happily, the recipe I chose apparently was very close to her bread, just by accident. It’s nice when those things happen.

I took the recipe from my copy of the “Yellow Farmhouse Cookbook” by Christopher Kimball (editor of Cook’s Country) and I made a couple of tiny tweaks. I added allspice, just a tiny pinch, and I used all four of my bananas which probably put the amount of banana beyond the 1 1/2 cups called for  in the recipe. I also added a wee bit more salt. The bread had a great banana flavor and a nice texture. It didn’t have bells and whistles, no brown sugar or nuts, but it was pretty good with a bit of butter. I might just have to buy an extra bunch of bananas to ensure we have more banana bread in the future.

Recipe for Banana Bread, adapted from The Yellow Farmhouse Cookbook

2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Tiny pinch of allspice

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 stick of butter, melted

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup (or a little more) mashed ripe bananas

Heat the over to 350 degrees. Grease a standard loaf pan with vegetable oil spray. Whisk flour, baking soda, allspice, and salt. In a separate bowl, beat the butter, sugar and eggs for 2 minutes in a stand mixer on medium. Mix in the vanilla and mashed banana, mix for 30 seconds. Mix in the flour mixture until just combined. Do not overmix. Scoop mixture into prepared pan and bake for 50 – 60 minutes (until cake tester comes out clean – it was 50 minutes for me). Let cook in the pan on a rack for 10 minutes. Invert the pan on to the rack and let the bread cool completely.

 

Leave a Reply

